Adjustable amperage EV chargers

Chargers whose output current is user-settable — and the circuit each setting actually needs.

Every figure here is taken from the manufacturer’s published listing and measured against the rest of the group. We do not test chargers. Where a listing is silent on a specification, this site prints not stated rather than a plausible default.

What this group looks like

Computed across the 19 matching listings.
Measure Middle half Median
Output 16 – 40 A 32 A
Breaker required (derived) 15 – 70 A 40 A
Power 3.7 – 9.6 kW 7.7 kW
Cable reach 25 – 25 ft 25 ft

The middle-half column spans the 25th to 75th percentile, so it describes where most of this group sits rather than being pulled about by one unusual unit.

This is arithmetic, not a design. The breaker figures here are the manufacturer’s published output multiplied by 1.25 and rounded up to the next standard size, which is what the continuous-load rule requires. They tell you what to expect before you call an electrician; they are not a substitute for one, and they say nothing about whether your panel has the capacity, what wire the run needs, or what your local code requires.

Against the market as a whole this group reaches about as far as average — a median cable of 25 ft against 25 ft overall. Cable length is the specification owners most often say they would change.

What these listings publish

Specification coverage is uneven, and knowing where it runs out is part of shopping honestly. A missing figure does not mean a worse charger — it means a less completely described one.

How many of these 19 listings publish each specification.
Specification Stated Share
Output amperage 19 100%
Voltage 16 84%
Power in kW 14 74%
Cable length 16 84%
Connector type 16 84%

What they cost

Bands, not prices — and the charger is only part of the bill. A new circuit is frequently the larger half, and no listing prices it.

Price band distribution across the 19 matching listings.
Band Listings Share
Under $200 13 68%
$200–350 3 16%
$350–500 2 11%
$500–800 1 5%

What adjusting the current actually changes

Everything else on this site treats a charger’s output as a fixed number, because for most of them it is. These are the exception, and they are the only listings here where the buyer decides what circuit the charger needs. The rule does not change: a continuous load requires a circuit rated at 125 per cent of its output. What changes is which output you are sizing for. A 40 amp charger set to 24 amps is a 24 amp load and needs a 30 amp circuit, not a 50 amp one. The charger is identical; the installation is a different job.

Why this is worth more than the extra amps

The commonest reason a home charger project stalls is a panel with nothing spare. An adjustable charger converts that from a blocking problem into a slower one: fit the unit you want, set it to what the panel can carry, and raise it later if the service is ever upgraded. Buying a smaller fixed charger to fit the circuit locks in the lower output permanently and costs roughly the same. This is the one specification on this site that buys back a decision instead of a number.

Read the ladder, not the headline

The listings that publish discrete steps are the useful ones, because a step is a number you can hand an electrician. A charger advertising a range rather than steps may adjust continuously or may have unstated intermediate settings, and the two are not the same thing when a breaker has to be chosen. Where a listing claims adjustability without publishing any figure at all, this page says so rather than inventing a ladder for it — that claim is worth nothing until the manual arrives.

The setting is not a substitute for an electrician

Setting a charger down does not make its installation informal. The circuit still has to be sized, wired and protected for the current the charger is actually set to, and it still has to be signed off. Nor is the setting a safety device: it decides what the charger draws, not what the wire can carry. If the charger is later raised to a setting the circuit was never built for, the setting is the only thing standing between the installation and a sustained overload. Size the circuit for the highest setting you ever intend to use, not the one you start on.

Where these sit in the market

Adjustability clusters in the middle and lower end of the range rather than at the top. That follows from what the feature is for: the chargers most likely to meet a panel that cannot carry them are the ones people buy for ordinary homes, and a 48 or 50 amp unit is already assuming a service that can spare 60 or 70 amps. It also means the feature is largely absent exactly where it would be most valuable, which is worth knowing before shopping for it at the top of the range.

What the listings do not tell you

None of these listings states how the current is set — whether it is a dial inside the enclosure, a sequence on a touch panel, or a setting in an app that only exists while the manufacturer runs the service. That matters, because a setting held in an app is a setting that can be lost, and one behind a cover is a setting that will not be changed by accident. The specification is published; the mechanism is not. It is the first thing to check in the manual, and this site cannot check it for you.

How this page is built

Every step shown here is read from the manufacturer’s own listing text and every breaker figure beside it is that step multiplied by 1.25 and rounded up to a size that is actually manufactured. Nothing here is tested and no charger has been set to any of these currents by anyone at this site. Where a listing’s advertised ladder contradicts its own rated output, the ladder is discarded rather than published, because one of the two figures is wrong and there is no way to tell which from the listing alone.

What each one drops to, and the circuit each setting needs

The steps are the manufacturer’s. The circuit beside each one is that step multiplied by 1.25 and rounded up to a breaker that is actually made — the same arithmetic used everywhere else on this site. Across these 12 listings the widest span between the smallest and largest setting is 35 amps of breaker, which is the difference between an ordinary circuit and a heavy one.

Published amperage settings and the branch circuit each requires.
Charger Rated Settings, and the circuit each needs
Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger up to 40Amp 40 A 16 A on a 20 A circuit; 24 A on a 30 A circuit; 32 A on a 40 A circuit; 40 A on a 50 A circuit
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp 40 A 10 A on a 15 A circuit; 16 A on a 20 A circuit; 20 A on a 30 A circuit; 24 A on a 30 A circuit; 32 A on a 40 A circuit; 40 A on a 50 A circuit
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla 40 A 10 A on a 15 A circuit; 16 A on a 20 A circuit; 20 A on a 30 A circuit; 24 A on a 30 A circuit; 32 A on a 40 A circuit; 40 A on a 50 A circuit
Grizzl-E Classic 40 A 16 A on a 20 A circuit; 24 A on a 30 A circuit; 32 A on a 40 A circuit; 40 A on a 50 A circuit
BETUMODA Level 2 EV Charger 40 A 8 A on a 15 A circuit; 16 A on a 20 A circuit; 24 A on a 30 A circuit; 32 A on a 40 A circuit; 40 A on a 50 A circuit
SEGUMA Level 2 EV Charger 40 A 10 A on a 15 A circuit; 16 A on a 20 A circuit; 20 A on a 30 A circuit; 24 A on a 30 A circuit; 32 A on a 40 A circuit; 40 A on a 50 A circuit
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger (32Amp 32 A 16 A on a 20 A circuit; 24 A on a 30 A circuit; 32 A on a 40 A circuit
SEGUMA 32A Level 2 EV Charger 32 A 10 A on a 15 A circuit; 16 A on a 20 A circuit; 20 A on a 30 A circuit; 24 A on a 30 A circuit; 32 A on a 40 A circuit
SEGUMA Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla 32 A 10 A on a 15 A circuit; 16 A on a 20 A circuit; 20 A on a 30 A circuit; 24 A on a 30 A circuit; 32 A on a 40 A circuit
2026 New Level 1&2 EV Charger 16 A 8 A on a 15 A circuit; 10 A on a 15 A circuit; 12 A on a 15 A circuit; 16 A on a 20 A circuit
BETUMODA Level 1 EV Charger – 2.8 Inch LED Touch Screen 16 A 8 A on a 15 A circuit; 10 A on a 15 A circuit; 13 A on a 20 A circuit
BETUMODA Level 1 EV Charger 16 A 8 A on a 15 A circuit; 10 A on a 15 A circuit; 13 A on a 20 A circuit; 16 A on a 20 A circuit

A further 7 listings here describe an adjustable current without publishing the steps. They are in the finder below, but there is no ladder to show for them and this page will not invent one.

Before you buy

Ask what the panel can spare before choosing an output

A charger’s amperage decides the circuit, and the circuit decides whether the job is an afternoon or a service upgrade. In an older house the panel is frequently the real constraint, and finding that out before choosing a charger saves returning one.

Measure the cable run properly

Measure from where the charger will actually be mounted to the furthest charge-port position you expect to use — the car parked the other way round, and a second vehicle. Twenty-five feet is common and is not generous once the cable goes around a car rather than straight at it.

Treat marketing language as a claim, not a specification

Where a phrase on a listing matters to your decision, look for the number behind it: a stated output in amps rather than a sentence about fast charging, a stated cable length rather than a description of reach. Where this site could not find that number, it says not stated.

Compare them

The finder below is already filtered to this group. Widen or narrow it from there — every result shows the breaker it needs and is measured against the median for its own output class.

Your requirements

How many amps can your panel spare?

This is the charger's output, not the circuit it needs. A charger is a continuous load, so its breaker must be rated at least 125% of that figure — every result below shows the breaker it requires.

What can you spend?

A ceiling, not a band — each option includes everything cheaper. Budget for the install as well: a new 60 A circuit is often a larger bill than the charger. We show price bands rather than exact prices, because a price captured on a scrape date is wrong by the time you read it.

Which plug does your car take?

J1772 is the standard connector on almost every non-Tesla EV sold in North America. NACS is Tesla's, and is being adopted by other makers. Adapters exist in both directions and are cheap; the connector is rarely the thing that decides the purchase.

How will it be installed?

Hardwired means an electrician wires it to the panel — required above 48 A and generally the tidier result. Plug-in needs a matching outlet, usually NEMA 14-50. Portable units travel with the car and run from either.

App control and scheduling

Scheduling charging for off-peak hours is where a smart charger pays for itself. Where a listing does not mention an app, this site does not assume it lacks one.

71 chargers match

EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla, 40A / 9.6kW Fast Home EV Charging Station with NEMA 14-50 Plug, 25FT Cable, Adjustable Current & Delay Timer, Compatible with All Tesla Model 3/Y/S/X (NACS Plug)

NACSPlug-in$200–350
Breaker needed
50A
Power
9.6kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
not stated
Weight
12lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

40A

Plug-in · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

Lectron Level 1 EV Charger – ETL Certified, 110V, 15 Amp, 16 ft Extension Cord & J1772 Cable – Portable Electric Car Charger for J1772 EVs with NEMA 5-15 Plug

J1772PortableUnder $200
Breaker needed
20A
Power
1.6kW
Voltage
120V
Cable
16ft
W x D x H
4×15×11in
Weight
6lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

15A

Portable · up to 16 A charger · 16 chargers

Cable reach

16ft of cable

-36% vs the 25 median — shorter than most in its class

Output is -6% against the class median of 16.

Autel 50A Level 2 EV Charger, 240V Hardwired J1772, WiFi Bluetooth, 25ft

J1772HardwiredSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
70A
Power
12.0kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
9×19×10in
Weight
21lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

50A

Hardwired · 49 A and above · 11 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

No class baseline to compare against.

Output is 0% against the class median of 50.

Autel Home Level 2 EV Charger up to 50Amp, 240V, Indoor/Outdoor Car Charging Station, Flexible 25-Foot Cable,Hardwired, Silver

not statedHardwiredSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
70A
Power
12.0kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
not stated
W x D x H
9×19×15in
Weight
17lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

50A

Hardwired · 49 A and above · 11 chargers

Cable reach

Cable length not stated, so reach cannot be compared.

Output is 0% against the class median of 50.

Autel Home Smart Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger up to 50Amp, 240V, Indoor/Outdoor Car Charging Station with Level 2, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Enabled EVSE, Hardwired,25-Foot Cable,Sierra Blue

not statedHardwiredSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
70A
Power
12.0kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
not stated
W x D x H
12×16×9in
Weight
18lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

50A

Hardwired · 49 A and above · 11 chargers

Cable reach

Cable length not stated, so reach cannot be compared.

Output is 0% against the class median of 50.

EMPORIA Level 2 EV Charger w/NACS, Compatible with Tesla – 48 amp Electric Car Charger, Preconfigured for Hardwired Install with Whip, UL/Energy Star WiFi-Enabled EVSE, 24ft Cable, White

NACSHardwiredSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
60A
Power
11.5kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
24ft
W x D x H
not stated
Weight
not stated
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

48A

Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers

Cable reach

24ft of cable

-4% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

WOLFBOX Level 2 EV Charger 48amp,Hardwired with J1772 Connector,240V(E48)

J1772HardwiredSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
60A
Power
not stated
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
not stated
Weight
13lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

48A

Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A – Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station

J1772HardwiredSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
60A
Power
not stated
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
9×4×9in
Weight
20lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

48A

Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

Level 2 EV Charger, 48Amp/11.5KW/240V, UL 2594, ETL & Energy Star

not statedSmart$200–350
Breaker needed
60A
Power
11.5kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
9×10×4in
Weight
13lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

48A

All · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 – 240V Wall Charging Station

J1772Plug-inSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
50A
Power
not stated
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
6×5×2in
Weight
21lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

40A

Plug-in · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, J1772 Portable Electric Car Charger, 240V NEMA 14-50 Plug, ETL Certified with 25FT Extension Cable

J1772Portable$200–350
Breaker needed
50A
Power
9.6kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
134×144×47in
Weight
13lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

40A

Portable · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Stations with NEMA 14-50P, 25FT Cable Adjustable Current/Timing Delay Home Electric Car Charger for J1772 BEVs/PHEVs

J1772PortableUnder $200
Breaker needed
50A
Power
9.6kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
not stated
Weight
12lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

40A

Portable · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

Related

Computed from the corpus on 2026-08-29.