Hardwired 48 amp EV chargers
The fastest domestic charging that a normal panel supports, wired directly to it.
Every figure here is taken from the manufacturer’s published listing and measured against the rest of the group. We do not test chargers. Where a listing is silent on a specification, this site prints not stated rather than a plausible default.
What this group looks like
| Measure | Middle half | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Output | 48 – 48 A | 48 A |
| Breaker required (derived) | 60 – 60 A | 60 A |
The middle-half column spans the 25th to 75th percentile, so it describes where most of this group sits rather than being pulled about by one unusual unit.
This is arithmetic, not a design. The breaker figures here are the manufacturer’s published output multiplied by 1.25 and rounded up to the next standard size, which is what the continuous-load rule requires. They tell you what to expect before you call an electrician; they are not a substitute for one, and they say nothing about whether your panel has the capacity, what wire the run needs, or what your local code requires.
What these listings publish
Specification coverage is uneven, and knowing where it runs out is part of shopping honestly. A missing figure does not mean a worse charger — it means a less completely described one.
| Specification | Stated | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Output amperage | 10 | 100% |
| Voltage | 8 | 80% |
| Power in kW | 4 | 40% |
| Cable length | 6 | 60% |
| Connector type | 10 | 100% |
What they cost
Bands, not prices — and the charger is only part of the bill. A new circuit is frequently the larger half, and no listing prices it.
| Band | Listings | Share |
|---|---|---|
| $350–500 | 7 | 70% |
| $500–800 | 3 | 30% |
This combination is the top of the domestic market
Above 48 A you are into commercial equipment and a service upgrade. At 48 A hardwired you get 11.5 kW — around 36 miles of range an hour — from a 60 A circuit that a reasonably modern panel can carry. That is the practical ceiling for a home, and this group is where the market’s flagship units sit.
Budget the circuit, not the charger
A 60 A run in heavy cable to a garage is frequently a larger bill than the charger on this page, and it is the part of the purchase that no listing prices. Get the electrician to look at the panel and the run before choosing between two chargers that differ by a cable length.
The narrowest, most decided class on this site
A hardwired 48 A charger is a specific answer to a specific situation: enough output to matter for a large battery or two cars, hardwired because no receptacle is rated to carry it continuously, and installed permanently because that is the only option. There is very little to decide within the class beyond cable length and app features, which is why this page is short on trade-offs and long on installation.
The breaker is not the charger’s amperage
An EVSE is a continuous load, so the circuit must be rated at least 125 per cent of the charger’s output. Across this corpus the median charger draws 40 A and needs a 50 A circuit, and the relationship holds at every step of the range. Buyers who size the circuit from the headline figure discover the difference when the electrician quotes, and there is no breaker made at some of the amperages people expect to buy.
Cable length is the specification owners regret
Nearly every charger in this corpus that states a cable length states the same one, so the figure barely differentiates products — and it is the specification owners most often say they would change. Measure from where the unit will actually be mounted to the furthest charge-port position you expect to use, including the car parked the other way round and a second vehicle. A charger that reaches is worth more than one that charges marginally faster, and the reach cannot be added later.
Mounting, and the wall it goes on
Weight is stated on roughly half these listings, and where it is given these units are heavy enough that the fixing matters: a charger on plasterboard with no timber behind it will eventually pull out, taking the cable with it. Most manufacturers supply a bracket and expect it to reach something structural. Outdoors the same fixing has to survive weather for a decade, which is a different problem from holding the weight on day one.
Where it can be sited
A hardwired unit is fixed where it is installed, so the siting decision is made once and lives with the household. Worth deciding with the car actually parked: which side the port is on, whether the car sometimes reverses in, whether a second vehicle will ever use it, and whether the cable will be walked over. None of that is a specification and all of it decides whether the installation was a good one.
Before you buy
Ask what the panel can spare before choosing an output
A charger’s amperage decides the circuit, and the circuit decides whether the job is an afternoon or a service upgrade. In an older house the panel is frequently the real constraint, and finding that out before choosing a charger saves returning one.
Measure the cable run properly
Measure from where the charger will actually be mounted to the furthest charge-port position you expect to use — the car parked the other way round, and a second vehicle. Twenty-five feet is common and is not generous once the cable goes around a car rather than straight at it.
Treat marketing language as a claim, not a specification
Where a phrase on a listing matters to your decision, look for the number behind it: a stated output in amps rather than a sentence about fast charging, a stated cable length rather than a description of reach. Where this site could not find that number, it says not stated.
Compare them
The finder below is already filtered to this group. Widen or narrow it from there — every result shows the breaker it needs and is measured against the median for its own output class.
12 chargers match

EMPORIA Level 2 EV Charger w/NACS, Compatible with Tesla – 48 amp Electric Car Charger, Preconfigured for Hardwired Install with Whip, UL/Energy Star WiFi-Enabled EVSE, 24ft Cable, White
- Breaker needed
- 60A
- Power
- 11.5kW
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 24ft
- W x D x H
- not stated
- Weight
- not stated
Charger output
48A
Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers
Cable reach
24ft of cable
-4% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

WOLFBOX Level 2 EV Charger 48amp,Hardwired with J1772 Connector,240V(E48)
- Breaker needed
- 60A
- Power
- not stated
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- not stated
- Weight
- 13lb
Charger output
48A
Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A – Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station
- Breaker needed
- 60A
- Power
- not stated
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- 9×4×9in
- Weight
- 20lb
Charger output
48A
Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

Level 2 EV Charger, 48Amp/11.5KW/240V, UL 2594, ETL & Energy Star
- Breaker needed
- 60A
- Power
- 11.5kW
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- 9×10×4in
- Weight
- 13lb
Charger output
48A
All · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger NACS 48A – Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station
- Breaker needed
- 60A
- Power
- not stated
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- 9×4×9in
- Weight
- 19lb
Charger output
48A
Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla, 48Amp/11.5KW, UL 2594/ETL/Energy Star
- Breaker needed
- 60A
- Power
- 11.5kW
- Voltage
- not stated
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- 9×10×4in
- Weight
- 13lb
Charger output
48A
All · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

Lectron J1772 Level 2 EV Charger, UL2594 Certified (ETL Listed), 48A 240V Nexus EV Charging Station, 23ft Cable & J1772 Charger Holder, Hardwired ONLY, Compatible with All J1772 Electric Vehicles
- Breaker needed
- 60A
- Power
- 11.5kW
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 23ft
- W x D x H
- not stated
- Weight
- 20lb
Charger output
48A
Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers
Cable reach
23ft of cable
-8% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

Tesla Wall Connector – Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger – Level 2 – up to 48A with 24' Cable
- Breaker needed
- 60A
- Power
- 11.5kW
- Voltage
- not stated
- Cable
- not stated
- W x D x H
- 6×4×14in
- Weight
- 11lb
Charger output
48A
Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers
Cable reach
Cable length not stated, so reach cannot be compared.
Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

EMPORIA Level 2 EV Charger w/ J1772 Connector — 48 Amp, 240V WiFi Enabled Electric Vehicle Charging Station, 25ft Cable, Hardwired with Whip, White
- Breaker needed
- 60A
- Power
- not stated
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- not stated
- Weight
- not stated
Charger output
48A
Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart – 48 amp Fast EV Charger for Home with Hardwire and J1772 Connector – 240v Electric Vehicle Charging Station and 25' EV Charging Cable
- Breaker needed
- 60A
- Power
- not stated
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- not stated
- W x D x H
- not stated
- Weight
- not stated
Charger output
48A
Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers
Cable reach
Cable length not stated, so reach cannot be compared.
Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart – 48 amp Fast EV Charger for Home with Hardwire and J1772 Connector – 240v Electric Vehicle Charging Station and 25' EV Charging Cable
- Breaker needed
- 60A
- Power
- not stated
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- not stated
- W x D x H
- 8×3×12in
- Weight
- not stated
Charger output
48A
Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers
Cable reach
Cable length not stated, so reach cannot be compared.
Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

Grizzl-E 48A Ultimate Level 2 Fastest 48A Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger, UL Tested and Certified, Metal Case, Indoor/Outdoor Electric Car Fast Charging Station, Hardwired, Ultra Edition, J1772
- Breaker needed
- 60A
- Power
- 11.5kW
- Voltage
- not stated
- Cable
- not stated
- W x D x H
- not stated
- Weight
- not stated
Charger output
48A
Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers
Cable reach
Cable length not stated, so reach cannot be compared.
Output is 0% against the class median of 48.
Related
- The full EV charger finder — unfiltered, every install method.
- What size breaker does an EV charger need? — the full table.
- Hardwired EV Chargers — the full category, with baselines for every specification.
- How we compile these figures.
