Plug-in 40 amp EV chargers
The combination most households actually buy: a NEMA 14-50 outlet and the largest charger it will carry.
Every figure here is taken from the manufacturer’s published listing and measured against the rest of the group. We do not test chargers. Where a listing is silent on a specification, this site prints not stated rather than a plausible default.
What this group looks like
| Measure | Middle half | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Output | 40 – 40 A | 40 A |
| Breaker required (derived) | 50 – 50 A | 50 A |
| Cable reach | 25 – 25 ft | 25 ft |
The middle-half column spans the 25th to 75th percentile, so it describes where most of this group sits rather than being pulled about by one unusual unit.
This is arithmetic, not a design. The breaker figures here are the manufacturer’s published output multiplied by 1.25 and rounded up to the next standard size, which is what the continuous-load rule requires. They tell you what to expect before you call an electrician; they are not a substitute for one, and they say nothing about whether your panel has the capacity, what wire the run needs, or what your local code requires.
Against the market as a whole this group reaches about as far as average — a median cable of 25 ft against 25 ft overall. Cable length is the specification owners most often say they would change.
What these listings publish
Specification coverage is uneven, and knowing where it runs out is part of shopping honestly. A missing figure does not mean a worse charger — it means a less completely described one.
| Specification | Stated | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Output amperage | 10 | 100% |
| Voltage | 10 | 100% |
| Power in kW | 4 | 40% |
| Cable length | 8 | 80% |
| Connector type | 7 | 70% |
What they cost
Bands, not prices — and the charger is only part of the bill. A new circuit is frequently the larger half, and no listing prices it.
| Band | Listings | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Under $200 | 1 | 10% |
| $200–350 | 4 | 40% |
| $350–500 | 4 | 40% |
| $500–800 | 1 | 10% |
Why 40 A and plug-in go together
A NEMA 14-50 receptacle is a 50 A device, and the continuous-load rule caps what it may carry at 40 A. So this pairing is not a compromise anyone chose — it is the arithmetic of the outlet that already exists in a great many garages. If you have a 14-50, this is the largest charger you can plug into it.
Unpluggable is worth more than the last few amps
A charger on a plug moves house with you, travels in the boot, and is replaced without an electrician. For a household that may not be in the same place in five years, that flexibility usually beats the ten minutes an overnight charge would save at 48 A.
The combination most households actually buy
Plug-in and 40 A is the pairing the market has converged on, because the NEMA 14-50 receptacle supports exactly this output under the continuous-load rule. The result is a charger that can be unplugged and taken when you move, installed without hardwiring, and delivering as much as the outlet allows. Its ceiling is the receptacle rather than the charger, which is the whole reason this combination exists as a class.
The breaker is not the charger’s amperage
An EVSE is a continuous load, so the circuit must be rated at least 125 per cent of the charger’s output. Across this corpus the median charger draws 40 A and needs a 50 A circuit, and the relationship holds at every step of the range. Buyers who size the circuit from the headline figure discover the difference when the electrician quotes, and there is no breaker made at some of the amperages people expect to buy.
Cable length is the specification owners regret
Nearly every charger in this corpus that states a cable length states the same one, so the figure barely differentiates products — and it is the specification owners most often say they would change. Measure from where the unit will actually be mounted to the furthest charge-port position you expect to use, including the car parked the other way round and a second vehicle. A charger that reaches is worth more than one that charges marginally faster, and the reach cannot be added later.
A new receptacle circuit is not free
Current code requires GFCI protection on a new 240 V receptacle circuit, and a GFCI breaker at these ratings costs several times a standard one. That line never appears on a charger listing and it narrows the cost gap between plugging in and hardwiring more than most buyers expect. Where an existing receptacle is being reused, it is worth confirming what protects it rather than assuming, because an older circuit may predate the requirement.
Taking it with you
The argument for plug-in over hardwired at this output is that the charger leaves with you. For a household that may move within the charger’s life, that is a real saving — the unit is unplugged and taken, and only the receptacle stays behind. It is worth weighing against how the outlet was installed: a 14-50 fitted for a charger is useful to the next owner, so leaving it is rarely a loss and taking the charger is rarely a cost.
Before you buy
Ask what the panel can spare before choosing an output
A charger’s amperage decides the circuit, and the circuit decides whether the job is an afternoon or a service upgrade. In an older house the panel is frequently the real constraint, and finding that out before choosing a charger saves returning one.
Measure the cable run properly
Measure from where the charger will actually be mounted to the furthest charge-port position you expect to use — the car parked the other way round, and a second vehicle. Twenty-five feet is common and is not generous once the cable goes around a car rather than straight at it.
Treat marketing language as a claim, not a specification
Where a phrase on a listing matters to your decision, look for the number behind it: a stated output in amps rather than a sentence about fast charging, a stated cable length rather than a description of reach. Where this site could not find that number, it says not stated.
Compare them
The finder below is already filtered to this group. Widen or narrow it from there — every result shows the breaker it needs and is measured against the median for its own output class.
12 chargers match

EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla, 40A / 9.6kW Fast Home EV Charging Station with NEMA 14-50 Plug, 25FT Cable, Adjustable Current & Delay Timer, Compatible with All Tesla Model 3/Y/S/X (NACS Plug)
- Breaker needed
- 50A
- Power
- 9.6kW
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- not stated
- Weight
- 12lb
Charger output
40A
Plug-in · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 – 240V Wall Charging Station
- Breaker needed
- 50A
- Power
- not stated
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- 6×5×2in
- Weight
- 21lb
Charger output
40A
Plug-in · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

SEGUMA Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla, 40A/9.6kW NACS Charger w/NEMA 14-50
- Breaker needed
- 50A
- Power
- 9.6kW
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- 4×16×12in
- Weight
- 12lb
Charger output
40A
Plug-in · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla, 40Amp/9.6KW, UL 2594/ETL/Energy Star
- Breaker needed
- 50A
- Power
- 9.6kW
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- 9×10×4in
- Weight
- 13lb
Charger output
40A
All · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

Wallbox Pulsar Plus Level 2 Ev Charger 40A, Electric Car Charger EVSE J1772
- Breaker needed
- 50A
- Power
- not stated
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- not stated
- W x D x H
- 8×4×8in
- Weight
- 20lb
Charger output
40A
Plug-in · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers
Cable reach
Cable length not stated, so reach cannot be compared.
Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger NACS 40A NEMA 14-50 – 240V Wall Charging Station
- Breaker needed
- 50A
- Power
- not stated
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- 15×15×11in
- Weight
- 20lb
Charger output
40A
Plug-in · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

Grizzl-E Classic, Level 2 240V / 40A Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger, UL Certified, Metal Case Enclosure, Indoor/Outdoor Electric Car Fast Wall Charging Station, NEMA 14-50 Plug, Classic Black
- Breaker needed
- 50A
- Power
- not stated
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 24ft
- W x D x H
- not stated
- Weight
- 17lb
Charger output
40A
Plug-in · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers
Cable reach
24ft of cable
-4% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

Autel 40A Level 2 EV Charger, 240V NEMA 14-50 J1772, WiFi, 25ft Cable
- Breaker needed
- 50A
- Power
- not stated
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- 8×3×13in
- Weight
- not stated
Charger output
40A
Plug-in · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

SEGUMA Level 2 EV Charger, 40Amp Electric Car Chargers for J1772 BEVs/PHEVs
- Breaker needed
- 50A
- Power
- 9.6kW
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- not stated
- Weight
- not stated
Charger output
40A
Plug-in · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

Level 2 EV Charger, 40Amp/9.6KW/240V, NEMA 14-50P, Wi-Fi(2.4 GHz)
- Breaker needed
- 50A
- Power
- 9.6kW
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- not stated
- Weight
- not stated
Charger output
40A
Plug-in · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

Level 2 EV Charger, 40 Amp 240V 9.6kW, 25ft Cable, LED Display
- Breaker needed
- 50A
- Power
- 9.6kW
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- 25ft
- W x D x H
- not stated
- Weight
- not stated
Charger output
40A
All · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers
Cable reach
25ft of cable
0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class
Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger up to 40Amp, 240V, Indoor/Outdoor Fast Electric Vehicle Charging Station with Flexible 25-Foot Cable, NEMA 14-50 Plug (White)
- Breaker needed
- 50A
- Power
- not stated
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable
- not stated
- W x D x H
- 16×12×5in
- Weight
- not stated
Charger output
40A
Plug-in · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers
Cable reach
Cable length not stated, so reach cannot be compared.
Output is 0% against the class median of 40.
Related
- The full EV charger finder — unfiltered, every install method.
- What size breaker does an EV charger need? — the full table.
- Plug-In EV Chargers — the full category, with baselines for every specification.
- How we compile these figures.
