Abstract concentric signal rings illustration in blue and pale sky on white — decorative header for Smart EV Chargers Compared on Specs

Smart EV chargers with app control

Scheduling is where a smart charger pays for itself — everything else it does is a convenience.

Every figure here is taken from the manufacturer’s published listing and measured against the rest of the group. We do not test chargers. Where a listing is silent on a specification, this site prints not stated rather than a plausible default.

What this group looks like

Computed across the 36 matching listings.
Measure Middle half Median
Output 40 – 50 A 48 A
Breaker required (derived) 20 – 100 A 60 A
Power 9.6 – 12 kW 11.5 kW
Cable reach 25 – 25 ft 25 ft

The middle-half column spans the 25th to 75th percentile, so it describes where most of this group sits rather than being pulled about by one unusual unit.

This is arithmetic, not a design. The breaker figures here are the manufacturer’s published output multiplied by 1.25 and rounded up to the next standard size, which is what the continuous-load rule requires. They tell you what to expect before you call an electrician; they are not a substitute for one, and they say nothing about whether your panel has the capacity, what wire the run needs, or what your local code requires.

Against the market as a whole this group reaches about as far as average — a median cable of 25 ft against 25 ft overall. Cable length is the specification owners most often say they would change.

What these listings publish

Specification coverage is uneven, and knowing where it runs out is part of shopping honestly. A missing figure does not mean a worse charger — it means a less completely described one.

How many of these 36 listings publish each specification.
Specification Stated Share
Output amperage 36 100%
Voltage 29 81%
Power in kW 19 53%
Cable length 24 67%
Connector type 32 89%

What they cost

Bands, not prices — and the charger is only part of the bill. A new circuit is frequently the larger half, and no listing prices it.

Price band distribution across the 36 matching listings.
Band Listings Share
Under $200 5 14%
$200–350 5 14%
$350–500 19 53%
$500–800 6 17%
Over $800 1 3%

Off-peak scheduling is the whole financial case

Where a tariff has cheap overnight hours, charging inside them rather than on arrival is the difference the app makes, and on a large battery it is a meaningful sum over a year. Most cars can schedule charging themselves, so the charger’s app matters most when the car’s scheduling is poor, when the tariff changes shape, or when two cars share one charger.

What the rest of it is worth

Energy reporting is useful for a business claim or a shared household. Load balancing genuinely helps where the panel is tight. Firmware updates cut both ways: a charger that can be improved after purchase can also be changed after purchase, and it depends on a manufacturer’s servers staying up.

A dumb charger on a timer is not a bad answer

If the car schedules charging well and the tariff is flat, the app adds convenience rather than value. This page exists to help you compare the ones that have it, not to argue that you need it.

What the app is genuinely for

Scheduling is the feature that pays for itself, and only where a tariff has cheap overnight hours. Everything else the app does — energy reporting, firmware updates, remote start — is convenience. Most cars will schedule their own charging, so the charger’s app matters most when the car’s scheduling is poor, when two cars share one charger, or when a business claim needs the energy figures separated from the household’s.

Connectivity is a dependency, not a feature

A charger that needs an app needs the manufacturer’s servers, the home network and a maintained application. Any of the three can fail or be withdrawn, and a charger whose scheduling lives entirely in the cloud stops scheduling when they do. The specification worth checking is what the unit does with no connection: the good answer is that it charges on its last schedule, and the poor one is that it charges immediately or not at all.

The breaker is not the charger’s amperage

An EVSE is a continuous load, so the circuit must be rated at least 125 per cent of the charger’s output. Across this corpus the median charger draws 40 A and needs a 50 A circuit, and the relationship holds at every step of the range. Buyers who size the circuit from the headline figure discover the difference when the electrician quotes, and there is no breaker made at some of the amperages people expect to buy.

What happens at the end of support

A charger is a fifteen-year fixture and an app is not. Manufacturers withdraw applications, change accounts and occasionally leave the market, and a unit whose scheduling depends entirely on a service has a functional life bounded by that service rather than by its hardware. Units that expose a local interface, or that hold their schedule on the device, are insulated from that. It is rarely stated and it is the specification most likely to matter in year eight.

Before you buy

Ask what the panel can spare before choosing an output

A charger’s amperage decides the circuit, and the circuit decides whether the job is an afternoon or a service upgrade. In an older house the panel is frequently the real constraint, and finding that out before choosing a charger saves returning one.

Measure the cable run properly

Measure from where the charger will actually be mounted to the furthest charge-port position you expect to use — the car parked the other way round, and a second vehicle. Twenty-five feet is common and is not generous once the cable goes around a car rather than straight at it.

Treat marketing language as a claim, not a specification

Where a phrase on a listing matters to your decision, look for the number behind it: a stated output in amps rather than a sentence about fast charging, a stated cable length rather than a description of reach. Where this site could not find that number, it says not stated.

Compare them

The finder below is already filtered to this group. Widen or narrow it from there — every result shows the breaker it needs and is measured against the median for its own output class.

Your requirements

How many amps can your panel spare?

This is the charger's output, not the circuit it needs. A charger is a continuous load, so its breaker must be rated at least 125% of that figure — every result below shows the breaker it requires.

What can you spend?

A ceiling, not a band — each option includes everything cheaper. Budget for the install as well: a new 60 A circuit is often a larger bill than the charger. We show price bands rather than exact prices, because a price captured on a scrape date is wrong by the time you read it.

Which plug does your car take?

J1772 is the standard connector on almost every non-Tesla EV sold in North America. NACS is Tesla's, and is being adopted by other makers. Adapters exist in both directions and are cheap; the connector is rarely the thing that decides the purchase.

How will it be installed?

Hardwired means an electrician wires it to the panel — required above 48 A and generally the tidier result. Plug-in needs a matching outlet, usually NEMA 14-50. Portable units travel with the car and run from either.

App control and scheduling

Scheduling charging for off-peak hours is where a smart charger pays for itself. Where a listing does not mention an app, this site does not assume it lacks one.

71 chargers match

EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla, 40A / 9.6kW Fast Home EV Charging Station with NEMA 14-50 Plug, 25FT Cable, Adjustable Current & Delay Timer, Compatible with All Tesla Model 3/Y/S/X (NACS Plug)

NACSPlug-in$200–350
Breaker needed
50A
Power
9.6kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
not stated
Weight
12lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

40A

Plug-in · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

Lectron Level 1 EV Charger – ETL Certified, 110V, 15 Amp, 16 ft Extension Cord & J1772 Cable – Portable Electric Car Charger for J1772 EVs with NEMA 5-15 Plug

J1772PortableUnder $200
Breaker needed
20A
Power
1.6kW
Voltage
120V
Cable
16ft
W x D x H
4×15×11in
Weight
6lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

15A

Portable · up to 16 A charger · 16 chargers

Cable reach

16ft of cable

-36% vs the 25 median — shorter than most in its class

Output is -6% against the class median of 16.

Autel 50A Level 2 EV Charger, 240V Hardwired J1772, WiFi Bluetooth, 25ft

J1772HardwiredSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
70A
Power
12.0kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
9×19×10in
Weight
21lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

50A

Hardwired · 49 A and above · 11 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

No class baseline to compare against.

Output is 0% against the class median of 50.

Autel Home Level 2 EV Charger up to 50Amp, 240V, Indoor/Outdoor Car Charging Station, Flexible 25-Foot Cable,Hardwired, Silver

not statedHardwiredSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
70A
Power
12.0kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
not stated
W x D x H
9×19×15in
Weight
17lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

50A

Hardwired · 49 A and above · 11 chargers

Cable reach

Cable length not stated, so reach cannot be compared.

Output is 0% against the class median of 50.

Autel Home Smart Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger up to 50Amp, 240V, Indoor/Outdoor Car Charging Station with Level 2, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Enabled EVSE, Hardwired,25-Foot Cable,Sierra Blue

not statedHardwiredSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
70A
Power
12.0kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
not stated
W x D x H
12×16×9in
Weight
18lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

50A

Hardwired · 49 A and above · 11 chargers

Cable reach

Cable length not stated, so reach cannot be compared.

Output is 0% against the class median of 50.

EMPORIA Level 2 EV Charger w/NACS, Compatible with Tesla – 48 amp Electric Car Charger, Preconfigured for Hardwired Install with Whip, UL/Energy Star WiFi-Enabled EVSE, 24ft Cable, White

NACSHardwiredSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
60A
Power
11.5kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
24ft
W x D x H
not stated
Weight
not stated
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

48A

Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers

Cable reach

24ft of cable

-4% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

WOLFBOX Level 2 EV Charger 48amp,Hardwired with J1772 Connector,240V(E48)

J1772HardwiredSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
60A
Power
not stated
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
not stated
Weight
13lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

48A

Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A – Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station

J1772HardwiredSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
60A
Power
not stated
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
9×4×9in
Weight
20lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

48A

Hardwired · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

Level 2 EV Charger, 48Amp/11.5KW/240V, UL 2594, ETL & Energy Star

not statedSmart$200–350
Breaker needed
60A
Power
11.5kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
9×10×4in
Weight
13lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

48A

All · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 – 240V Wall Charging Station

J1772Plug-inSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
50A
Power
not stated
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
6×5×2in
Weight
21lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

40A

Plug-in · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, J1772 Portable Electric Car Charger, 240V NEMA 14-50 Plug, ETL Certified with 25FT Extension Cable

J1772Portable$200–350
Breaker needed
50A
Power
9.6kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
134×144×47in
Weight
13lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

40A

Portable · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Stations with NEMA 14-50P, 25FT Cable Adjustable Current/Timing Delay Home Electric Car Charger for J1772 BEVs/PHEVs

J1772PortableUnder $200
Breaker needed
50A
Power
9.6kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
not stated
Weight
12lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

40A

Portable · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

Related

Computed from the corpus on 2026-08-29.