Level 2 EV Charger 32 Amp Portable J1772 NEMA 14-50 7.6kW 25ft Cable: specifications and the circuit it needs

A 32 A portable charger, measured against the 25 portable chargers in this corpus — including the branch circuit it requires, which the listing does not state.

EVPOVO 32 A portable EV charger, manufacturer's product image

The manufacturer’s own product image, from the listing. Not a photograph of a unit anyone here has handled.

Check price on Amazon

Every figure below is read from the manufacturer’s own listing. We do not test chargers and we are not electricians. Where the listing is silent, this page prints not stated rather than a plausible default, and the one number here that no manufacturer publishes — the circuit — is arithmetic on the output rating, shown with its working.

At a glance

What this listing publishes, plus the circuit derived from its output.
Specification Stated
Output 32 A
Circuit required (derived) 40 A breaker
Power 7.6 kW
Voltage 240 V
Connector J1772
Cable reach 25 ft
Install method portable
Price band Under $200
App control stated on the listing
Brand EVPOVO

The circuit this one needs

An EV charger is a continuous load, so the branch circuit must be rated at least 125 per cent of its output. At 32 A that is 40.0 A, and the smallest breaker actually manufactured at or above that figure is 40 A. That is the number to give an electrician, and it is the number that decides what the installation costs — frequently more than the charger.

This is arithmetic, not a design. The breaker figures here are the manufacturer’s published output multiplied by 1.25 and rounded up to the next standard size, which is what the continuous-load rule requires. They tell you what to expect before you call an electrician; they are not a substitute for one, and they say nothing about whether your panel has the capacity, what wire the run needs, or what your local code requires.

How it compares with its own class

Against the 25 portable chargers in this corpus, rather than against a generic alternative:

This charger against the median for portable chargers.
Measure This one Class median Where it sits
Output 32 A 16 A above the class median of 16 A
Breaker required (derived) 40 A 20 A above the class median of 20 A
Power 7.6 kW 3.8 kW above the class median of 3.8 kW
Cable reach 25 ft 25 ft the same as the class median

A charger sitting on the class median is not a worse buy than one above it. The figure that matters is whether the output suits the panel and the car, and a unit above the median on output is also above it on what the circuit will cost.

See this charger on Amazon

Where it suits

  • A panel that can spare a 40 A branch circuit, confirmed by a load calculation rather than assumed.
  • Charging in more than one place, or as a second charger kept in the car.
  • A run where 25 ft genuinely reaches the charge port, measured with the car parked as it actually parks.
  • Charging on an off-peak tariff, where scheduling is worth real money.

Where it does not

  • A household wanting a fixed, tidy installation that lives on the wall permanently.
  • A circuit smaller than the charger requires, since the output here is not adjustable.
  • A driver unwilling to use an adapter, if the car does not take J1772 directly.

What the listing claims

These are the manufacturer’s statements, not findings. Nothing on this page has been measured by anyone here, and a specification stated on a listing is a claim until the unit is in front of you.

It states output, circuit required, power, voltage, connector, cable reach. It does not state whether the output can be adjusted.

The gaps matter as much as the figures. A listing that omits a cable length is not describing a short cable, it is describing itself incompletely — and cable reach is the specification owners most often say they would change, because it cannot be added afterwards.

What no listing on this site tells you

Three things decide whether an installation is a good one, and none of them is a specification any manufacturer publishes. The first is what the panel can spare, which is a property of your house rather than of the charger — a 40 A circuit is either available or it is the start of a much larger job, and only a load calculation says which. The second is the run itself: the distance from the panel to where the charger will hang, whether it is a straight route or through a finished wall, and what that length of cable at that gauge costs. On a long run the wire is frequently the single largest line on the quote, and it scales with the amperage the circuit is built for.

The third is siting, which is decided once and lived with. Which side the charge port is on, whether the car ever reverses in, whether a second vehicle will share the charger, and whether the cable will be walked over every day. None of that appears on a listing and all of it determines whether the cable reaches. This one states 25 ft, and a cable measured around a car rather than straight at it is shorter than it sounds.

Worth checking in the manual rather than the listing: whether the unit is rated for outdoor mounting where you intend to put it, what the warranty actually covers and for how long, and — if it offers scheduling — whether the schedule lives on the device or in an account with a company that may not be selling chargers in ten years. A charger is a fifteen-year fixture. The app is not.

Before you decide

Confirm the panel before the charger

A 40 A circuit has to come from somewhere. In an older house the spare capacity is frequently the real constraint, and a load calculation costs nothing next to returning a charger that could never have been installed.

Measure the run the car actually needs

Measure from where the unit will be mounted to the furthest charge-port position you expect to use — the car parked the other way round, and a second vehicle. 25 ft is less generous once it goes around a car rather than straight at it.

Treat marketing language as a claim

Where a phrase on the listing matters to your decision, look for the number behind it: a stated output in amps rather than a sentence about fast charging. Where this site could not find that number, it says not stated.

If the circuit works and the reach is right, the current price and availability are on Amazon — this site deliberately does not quote either, because both are stale within days of being read.

Check current price and availability

Compare it against the rest of its class

The finder below is filtered to portable chargers. Every result shows the breaker it needs and is measured against the median for its own class.

Your requirements

How many amps can your panel spare?

This is the charger's output, not the circuit it needs. A charger is a continuous load, so its breaker must be rated at least 125% of that figure — every result below shows the breaker it requires.

What can you spend?

A ceiling, not a band — each option includes everything cheaper. Budget for the install as well: a new 60 A circuit is often a larger bill than the charger. We show price bands rather than exact prices, because a price captured on a scrape date is wrong by the time you read it.

Which plug does your car take?

J1772 is the standard connector on almost every non-Tesla EV sold in North America. NACS is Tesla's, and is being adopted by other makers. Adapters exist in both directions and are cheap; the connector is rarely the thing that decides the purchase.

How will it be installed?

Hardwired means an electrician wires it to the panel — required above 48 A and generally the tidier result. Plug-in needs a matching outlet, usually NEMA 14-50. Portable units travel with the car and run from either.

App control and scheduling

Scheduling charging for off-peak hours is where a smart charger pays for itself. Where a listing does not mention an app, this site does not assume it lacks one.

29 chargers match

Lectron Level 1 EV Charger – ETL Certified, 110V, 15 Amp, 16 ft Extension Cord & J1772 Cable – Portable Electric Car Charger for J1772 EVs with NEMA 5-15 Plug

J1772PortableUnder $200
Breaker needed
20A
Power
1.6kW
Voltage
120V
Cable
16ft
W x D x H
4×15×11in
Weight
6lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

15A

Portable · up to 16 A charger · 16 chargers

Cable reach

16ft of cable

-36% vs the 25 median — shorter than most in its class

Output is -6% against the class median of 16.

Level 2 EV Charger, 48Amp/11.5KW/240V, UL 2594, ETL & Energy Star

not statedSmart$200–350
Breaker needed
60A
Power
11.5kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
9×10×4in
Weight
13lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

48A

All · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, J1772 Portable Electric Car Charger, 240V NEMA 14-50 Plug, ETL Certified with 25FT Extension Cable

J1772Portable$200–350
Breaker needed
50A
Power
9.6kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
134×144×47in
Weight
13lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

40A

Portable · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Stations with NEMA 14-50P, 25FT Cable Adjustable Current/Timing Delay Home Electric Car Charger for J1772 BEVs/PHEVs

J1772PortableUnder $200
Breaker needed
50A
Power
9.6kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
not stated
Weight
12lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

40A

Portable · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla, 40Amp/9.6KW, UL 2594/ETL/Energy Star

NACSSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
50A
Power
9.6kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
9×10×4in
Weight
13lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

40A

All · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

Level 2 EV Charger 32 Amp Portable J1772 NEMA 14-50 7.6kW 25ft Cable

J1772PortableSmartUnder $200
Breaker needed
40A
Power
7.6kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
not stated
Weight
not stated
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

32A

Portable · 17 to 32 A charger · 9 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 32.

EVDANCE Level 1&2 EV Charger, Electric Vehicle Portable Charger with 25FT Cable, ETL Listed J1772 EVSE for All EVs & PHEVs, 12A 120V/16A 240V(Black, 16A Max | NEMA 5-15&6-20(Standard Home Plug))

J1772PortableUnder $200
Breaker needed
20A
Power
3.8kW
Voltage
120V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
4×8×25in
Weight
7lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

16A

Portable · up to 16 A charger · 16 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 16.

VEVOR Level 1+2 Portable EV Charger, 16 Amp 120V or 240V, Electric Vehicle Charger with 28-Foot Charging Cable NEMA 6-20P Plug NEMA 5-15 Adapter, Plug-in Home EV Charging Station for SAE J1772 EVs

J1772PortableUnder $200
Breaker needed
20A
Power
3.8kW
Voltage
120V
Cable
28ft
W x D x H
not stated
Weight
7lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

16A

Portable · up to 16 A charger · 16 chargers

Cable reach

28ft of cable

+12% vs the 25 median — more reach than most in its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 16.

Level 1&2 EV Charger, Electric Vehicle Portable Charger with 20FT Cable, 3.5KW 16Amp Home EV Car Charging Station, 110V-240V NEMA 6-20 & NEMA 5-15 Plug Adapter, for All SAE J1772

J1772PortableUnder $200
Breaker needed
20A
Power
3.5kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
20ft
W x D x H
4×240×2in
Weight
6lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

16A

Portable · up to 16 A charger · 16 chargers

Cable reach

20ft of cable

-20% vs the 25 median — shorter than most in its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 16.

Level 1&2 EV Charger,12/16 Amp 6-20P/5-15 Adapter,25ft for J1772 EVs

J1772PortableUnder $200
Breaker needed
20A
Power
3.7kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
3×2×9in
Weight
8lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

16A

Portable · up to 16 A charger · 16 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 16.

Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla, 48Amp/11.5KW, UL 2594/ETL/Energy Star

NACSSmart$350–500
Breaker needed
60A
Power
11.5kW
Voltage
not stated
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
9×10×4in
Weight
13lb
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

48A

All · 41 to 48 A charger · 17 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 48.

AIMILER Level 2 Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger(WiFi APP/Plug-Play), 40A, 25ft Cable ETL Certified, 220V-240V NEMA 14-50P Plug EVSE w/ J1772 Connector, Portable EV Car Charging Stations (Jet)

J1772PortableSmart$200–350
Breaker needed
50A
Power
9.6kW
Voltage
240V
Cable
25ft
W x D x H
not stated
Weight
not stated
Check price on Amazon

Charger output

40A

Portable · 33 to 40 A charger · 18 chargers

Cable reach

25ft of cable

0% vs the 25 median — typical for its class

Output is 0% against the class median of 40.

Related

Computed from the corpus on 2026-08-29.